All 16 SADC countries are members of ZAZIBONA and participate either as active members, non-active members or observers. Active member status is granted to countries with the capacity to conduct assessments and good manufacturing practices (GMP) inspections.  Participation is based on countries signing a memorandum of understanding titled, ‘NMRA agreement to participate’.

The status of the member countries is as below;

Active member countries

  • Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, United Republic of Tanzania, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Non-active member countries

  • Angola, Comoros Islands, Madagascar, Seychelles, Swaziland

Observer countries

  • Lesotho, Mauritius

Active Member States Websites

  1. Botswana: Botswana Medicines Regulatory Authority (BoMRA)
  2. Democratic Republic of Congo: Acorep (
  3. Malawi: PMRA – Home
  4. Mozambique:
  5. Namibia: Home – NMRC – GRN Portal (
  6. South Africa: SAHPRA – South African Health Products Regulatory Authority
  7. Tanzania: TMDA | Tanzania Medicines & Medical Devices Authority Home
  8. Zambia: Zambia Medicines Regulatory Authority (ZAMRA)
  9. Zimbabwe: MCAZ – Protecting your right to human medicines and medical devices